diamonddigger870

The Business Lounge

Sun May 26, 2019 1:36 am

I work in IT, but lately I have been looking into options for businesses to start and side hustles for extra cash.

I've recently just finished reading CA$HVERTISING: How to Use More than 100 Secrets of Ad-Agency Psychology to Make Big Money Selling Anything to Anyone https://www.amazon.com/dp/1601630328/re ... 6CbX205M91

Currently, I am reading Positioning: The Battle for Your Mind https://www.amazon.com/dp/0071373586/re ... 6CbX9E6Q4Z. It's a pretty interesting read detailing exactly how to get into the minds of your potential customers, and to best position your product/service in the marketplace.

Anyone else reading anything interesting relating to business? Or making any recent strides in hitting their business or side hustle related goals?

Ludwig

Re: The Business Lounge

Sun May 26, 2019 3:17 pm

I'll second Cashvertising as it is an excellent book with some great copywriting information. Another one I really like is Influence by Robert Cialdini. These two books were instrumental in the launch of my business and I have been able to build on that with more traditional methods ever since.

diamonddigger870

Sun May 26, 2019 3:45 pm

Influence and Pre-suasion by Robert Cialdini are definitely both on my to read list. Robert Ciladini's work was mentioned in both Cashvertising and Positioning, and I've seen Scott Adams, who is knowledgeable about persuasion recommend these books as well.

Currently, I have an small online side hustle, and I have been reading these books to see if there is a better way to reach potential customers using sales techniques from experts to generate more income.

How difficult was it for you to successfully determine the specifics of your niche? I think that's where I'm struggling the most, I mean I know who my niche is generally, but I don't understand their psychological profile enough to design effective ad campaigns to reach them, and make the sale.

Ludwig